Chakra Bhedan (Piercing The Chakras) | Technique

Remain in your sitting position, head upright facing forwards.

Keep your eyes closed.

Continue khechari mudra and ujjayi pranayama.


Fix your awareness at the swadhisthana chakra in the spinal awarohan passage.

Then while inhaling, move your awareness downwards from the swadhisthana chakra to the mooladhara chakra.

Then move upwards through the following kshetrams in the front of the body:

  1. swadhisthana
  2. manipura
  3. anahata
  4. vishuddhi

This whole process is shown in figure 1 of the above picture.

Be aware of each centre one after the other and feel them being pierced by the breath.

Don’t stop at any centre.

Let your awareness and breath be like a long, thin thread.

Inhalation ends at the vishuddhi kshetram.

Immediately start exhalation, with awareness moving upwards to bindu . . . and then descending through the following chakras in the spine: ajna, vishuddhi, anahata, manipura, swadhisthana.

The entire process is depicted in figure 2.

Exhalation should end at the swadhisthana chakra.

This is the end of 1 round.

Immediately start the second round.

Inhale from swadhisthana to mooladhara and then up the frontal passage.

Your breath and awareness should go round and round . . . continuously without break.

Do 59 complete rounds.


Practise ujjayi pranayama throughout the practice. The breathing should be out of phase with the psychic passage awareness, as described.


Be aware of the continuous flow of breath moving through the arohan and awarohan psychic passages and the piercing of chakras and kshetrams.

Number of rounds and duration

You should practise 59 rounds. If however, you find that you become too introverted then immediately leave chakra bhedan and start the next practice.

Between 20 and 30 minutes will be required to do 59 complete rounds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *