Maha Bheda Mudra | General Details

Choice of method

Both maha mudra (kriya 6) and maha bheda mudra (kriya 7) have two alternative methods. Each alternative of maha mudra has the same sitting position as the corresponding alternative in maha bheda mudra. Therefore, in order to bring continuity and flow into your practice we suggest that you either do both alternatives 1 or both alternatives 2.


During the practice of this kriya you should be aware of the following:

1. The flow of prana through arohan and awarohan passages and the chakras and kshetrams in turn.

2. Mental repetition of mooladhara, bindu, nasikagra, uddiyana and mool mantras.

3. Movement of head and eyes.

4. Number of rounds completed.


For the complete practice you have to do 12 rounds. Beginners who do only 3 rotations of nasikagra, uddiyana and mool will take about 8 minutes; those who do 12 complete rotations for 12 rounds will require about 10 minutes.


Maha bheda mudra is to be done immediately after maha mudra1 and before manduki mudra.

Counting of rounds

Mentally count each round just before your awareness ascends the frontal passage.


Both maha mudra and maha bheda mudra are strenuous practices, especially in the beginning. If you wish you can take a short rest just after maha mudra before starting maha bheda mudra. During this short rest, say one or two minutes, you should close your eves and fix your awareness on breathing.

Specific influence

Both maha mudra and maha bheda mudra are physical methods that have a profound influence at a pranic level. They specifically influence three centres: mooladhara chakra, manipura chakra and ajna chakra. Whether you are aware of it or not, these two kriyas manipulate and harness the energies within the chakras for the inducement of concentration of mind and meditation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *