Swaroopa Darshana (The Vision Of Your Self)

Topic 5

Kriya Yoga: Practice

Kriya 18: Swaroopa Darshana (The Vision Of Your Self)

The word swaroopa means ‘one’s real form’; darshana means ‘direct perception’ or ‘vision’. What is one’s real form? Is it the physical body? Is it the mind? Is it both together? Or something more? No one else can ever tell you. You have to find out for yourself from your own experience. In yoga, one’s real nature or form is called the atma. In English, it is translated as the self. It is the discovery and direct perception – darshana – of the self that is the whole purpose of yoga. Therefore, the name of this kriya sums up the essence of yoga – the direct perception of the self.

Sitting position

Remain sitting in the same asana used for the previous kriya. Do not move the body.


Sit comfortably.

Keep your eyes closed.

Become aware of your physical body . . . nothing else.

Let there be total, uninterrupted perception of your whole body.

Your body is perfectly motionless.

It is steady like a large rock.

Be aware of your body . . . and stillness.

Be aware of your whole body . . . and stillness.

Feel the steadiness of the body … and stillness.

Simultaneously become aware of your natural breath.

Your breath moves inwards . . . and outwards.

Watch the constant, rhythmical flow of your breath and feel the steadiness of your whole body.

Gradually your body will become rigid as though ail the muscles have frozen.

Every part of your body will become stiff . . . but it is not so much a physical stiffness as a psychic stiffness.

You will be locked in a psychic bandha .. . a psychic lock.

Don’t forget your simultaneous awareness of the breath.

You will feel stiffer and stiffer, and your awareness will gradually transfer more and more to the breath.

No effort is required . . . the body will become stiffer automatically.

Eventually your body will become so stiff and rigid that it will feel like a stone statue . . . you will find it completely impossible to move the body.

At this stage go on immediately to the next kriya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *