Tadan Kriya (Beating The Kundalini) | Technique

The practice can be arbitrarily divided into four stages:

Stage 1: starting pose

Sit in padmasana (if you cannot sit in padmasana sit with both legs stretched out in front) Place the hands on the floor besides the buttocks.

The arms should be straight, but relaxed.

Then the eyes.

Bend your head back slightly.

This is the starting position (shown in figures)


Stage 2: inhalation

Practise shambhavi mudra; maintain this throughout the practice. Open your mouth slightly. Inhale slowly and deeply through your mouth with ujjayi pranayama.

Imagine that there is a tube running down the center of your body connecting the mouth to mooladhara chakra.

As you inhale, imagine that your breath is being drawn down through this inner tube.

The breath accumulates and builds up pressure at mooladhara.

This process is shown in figure 1.

At the end of inhalation proceed to stage 3.


Stage 3: beating the buttocks

Hold your breath.

Fix awareness at the mooladhara chakra.

Practise a mild form of moola bandha; that is a slight contraction of mooladhara.

Straighten your arms and lift your buttocks and whole body off the ground (see figure 2).

Beat the buttocks on the floor.

Raise and drop the body by bending and straightening the arms.

Beginners should only beat the buttocks 3 times: this can be slowly increased up to a maximum of 11 times.

This beating should not be harsh.

Throughout, the awareness should be fixed at mooladhara.

Then proceed to stage 4.


Stage 4: diffusion

After a number of beatings sit on the floor.

Release moola bandha.

Relax the whole body.

Exhale through the nose with ujjayi pranayama.

Feel the breath and prana diffuse in all directions from mooladhara chakra (see figure 3).

This is the end of 1 round (stages 1-4).

Do 7 rounds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *