Yoga Nidra – Part 4 | Technique 6 | Stages 5-6

Stage 5: visualization – body awareness

Try to visualize your own body.

Imagine that you are viewing it from outside.

Feel that your perception is outside and your body is an object of study.

You may find visualization difficult . . . don’t worry, only do your best.

If you wish you can imagine that there is a large mirror suspended above your body . . . and that your body is reflected in it.

Look at your own reflection.

See your whole body, feet, knees, thighs, your abdomen, your chest, both arms, hands, nose, eyes, eyebrow centre, your whole face and your whole body.

See your whole body reflected in the mirror.

Rotate your awareness through these different parts of your body.

Combine your rotation of awareness with visualization of that part or limb.

Continue in this manner for a few minutes.

Stage 6: psychic centres – awareness rotation

Now you have to develop awareness of the location of the principal chakras.

You have to discover the psychic centres in your body.

Start with the bottom and progress upwards.

First there is mooladhara, situated for men in the perineum between the anus and genitals, and for women at the cervix.

Try to feel the sensation at the mooladhara.

The second chakra is swadhisthana.

It is located at the base of the spine in the coccyx.

Be aware of the sensations at that point.

The third chakra is manipura.

It is located in the spine at the same level as the navel.

Feel that point.

Then be aware of the anahata chakra located in the spine directly behind the centre of the chest.

Feel that point.

Now the vishuddhi chakra, the fifth chakra.

It is situated in the spine directly behind the Adam’s apple in the throat.

Feel the sensations arising at that point.

The sixth chakra is the ajna.

It is located at the very top of the spine in the region of the pineal gland.

Fix your awareness on that area.

Now be aware of the bindu at the top and back of the head.

It is the same place where many Hindus wear a small tuft of hair.

Feel that point.

Lastly, be aware of the sahasrara located at the crown of the head.

Now repeat this process but in reverse; that is, pass downwards in turn through the sahasrara, bindu, ajna, vishuddhi, anahata, manipura, swadhisthana and mooladhara.

This is 1 complete round of chakra rotation.

Start a second round: mooladhara . . . swadhisthana … manipura… anahata … vishuddhi .. . ajna … bindu … sahasrara … sahasrara . . . bindu . .. ajna . . . vishuddhi… anahata . . . manipura . . . swadhisthana . . . and finally, mooladhara.

This is the end of the second round.

Start a third round, this time a little faster.

As you fix your attention at each point, try to feei a slight vibration at that point .. . a tiny pulsation.

If you wish you can mentally chant Aum as you locate each point in turn.

Do as many rounds as time permits; at least 5, more if possible.

Then proceed to the next stage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *